Afrofuturismo no Brasil / Afrofuturism in Brazil

Raphael Tsavkko Garcia
18 min readDec 23, 2021
Art by Stephany Torres for Remezcla.

On November 16, I published at Remezcla a shorter version of three interviews I made with Brazilian afrofuturist authors.

I decided to publish a longer version in English and an even longer one with all the original content, in Portuguese.

ENGLISH:

Fábio Kabral is one of the best-known names of the Brazilian Afrofuturism movement, author of “Ritos de Passagem” (“Rites of Passage”, 2014), “O Caçador Cibernético da Rua 13” (“The Cybernetic Hunter of 13th Street”2017) and “A Cientista Guerreira do Facão Furioso” (“The Warrior Scientist of the Furious Knife” 2019).

“If there is any future that I create with my work, it is the one where there are more and more black people creating and expressing themselves to the world through fictional literature.”

1. What are the main themes and perspectives of your work?

My main concern with my works is to present the humanity of black people, in their virtues, defects and contradictions, from our own cultural image. Beyond the…

--

--

Raphael Tsavkko Garcia

Journalist, PhD in Human Rights (University of Deusto). MA in Communication Sciences, BA in International Relations. www.tsavkko.com.br